Travel and art are interwoven for me: whenever I arrive at a new destination, (or re-visit one), I always seem to end up at the art gallery. Once there, I rarely wish to leave, not least because of the sense of adventure, of wandering through time and imagination. Six years ago, I had the pleasure of strolling through the Koninklijk Museum Voor Schone Kunsten/Royal Museum of Fine Arts in Antwerp.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My husband and I practically had the whole place to ourselves, which is a rare treat, given how busy galleries can be.  We spent the better part of a day strolling through what I came to think of as the Uffizi of the north, for it has some of the most wonderful works of art to come of out the Flemish Renaissance. Indeed, this gallery taught me so many news things, both about painters and their works, and about the history of the Low Countries. Now, I am not an art historian by any stretch, so I will leave any edifying comments to the experts and simply urge you to visit the Koninklijk Museum if you are ever lucky enough to be in Antwerp. If you are really lucky, you can do as we did, and round out the day with dinner at Brasseurs!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

http://restaurantbrasseurs.be/nl
http://www.kmska.be/en/

